10 Books To Read If You Love A Shocking Plot Twist

Within every genre of literature, there are certain books that will keep you up all night until you finish them. If you love a gripping storyline and various twists and turns, check out these 10 books that will definitely keep you at the edge of your seat. With such shocking plot twists, you won’t be able to put the book down. 

Behind her Eyes, Sarah Pinborough

Behind her Eyes is a story of a love triangle, told from two perspectives. The book is partially about relationships, part horror, part mystery, all combined and finally, unfolded with a creative and unique ending. It is one of those books you might want to read again as soon as you finish it.

Truly Madly Guilty, Liane Moriarty

The story starts as a simple barbeque get-together; however, things start to go bad very fast. Besides shocking plot twists, this book also has a humorous undertone, thanks to Liane Moriarty’s genius writing style. 

In a Dark, Dark Wood, Ruth Ware

If you can handle an extremely spooky thriller, this is definitely a book you would want to read. Danger can be sensed on every single page as strange things begin to happen and you just won’t be able to stop until you read the whole story. 

The Couple Next Door, Shari Lapena

When things look too perfect on the outside, the truth is that they are usually very broken on the inside. This is exactly what Shari Lapena examines in this mystery thriller filled with psychological twists that will easily build your suspense and make your heart race. 

Elizabeth is Missing, Emma Healey

Elizabeth is Missing stands out because of its unique and intriguing protagonist – an old lady suffering from dementia who is on a quest to find a missing friend. When nobody believes you, you have to take the matter into your own hands, right? 

Shutter Island, Dennis Lehane

What happens when you combine dark psychiatric testing, mystery, a missing murderous patient, and an island from which it is impossible to escape? In this case, an amazing book. This story also has a great movie adaptation, that you will enjoy even more after you have read the book.

Fight Club, Chuck Palahniuk

Another great book, with an amazing movie based on it. However, even if you have already seen Fight Club (1999), you should still definitely read this book filled with cynicism and satire. 

The Girl Before, JP Delaney

The Girl Before follows a story of a woman who recently moved into a new house; however, after strange things begin to happen, it soon becomes clear that living in that house comes with a huge price. If you are a fan of Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, this should definitely be one of your next reads. 

The Lie, Hesh Kestin

The Lie is set in the center of the Palestinian Israeli conflict, and one woman is particularly invested after her son gets kidnapped by terrorists. What will she do and what well-hidden secrets will she uncover – find out in this fantastic page-turner. 

Every Dead Thing, John Connolly

The story follows an NYPD detective in search of his family’s killer, as well as two serial killers. This story is not for the light-hearted as it is very detailed, gruesome, and dark, but nonetheless incredibly intriguing.